MissionVision . . . and another project trip

Posted: March 17, 2011 by Michele in Engineering Ministries International, family, missions, prayer requests, project trips

A week ago, I was in Fort St. John.  What a great week of visiting, catching up, and sharing about what God has been doing.  And the girls & Kevin survived just fine without me 🙂

I should have counted how many cups of tea I drank over the course of the week!  I arrived early last Wednesday morning, and was whisked away to my first of many “appointments”.  I loved catching up with everyone – and I even got to see some friends that I hadn’t seen since we moved away four years ago.  I also shared at the local Christian School as part of their Missions Emphasis Week, and I got to share stories at one of the Bible Study groups.

On Friday was the start of MissionVision.  MissionVision is a community-wide Missions Conference put on by a dozen or so churches in the Fort St. John area.  I’m constantly amazed at how much these churches can accomplish when they work together – and what a heart for Missions this community has!  The church was full for the plenary sessions, the seminars were well-attended (& of course, the food was delicious!).  I spent the duration of MissionVision at the eMi booth, sharing pictures and stories, touching base with friends and supporters, and yes, connecting with some design professionals who just might come on a trip some day.  I also presented two seminars – one on intercultural communication and one sharing stories of what God is doing around the world, as we’ve seen through some of Kevin’s project trips.  I did get to attend the very last plenary session (after the booths had been taken down), and enjoyed a good challenge about Missions from Russell Stendall.

On Sunday, I was back at church with a quick update about our ministry, and then I had a few more visits to fit in.  Not a lot of downtime this trip – but that’s okay.  On Monday, a friend and I chatted while we tried out the indoor walking track that I had heard so much about, and then she dropped me off at the airport to start my journey home.  I expected a quiet flight, but I met another missionary who is getting ready to head back to Benin soon, and swapping Africa stories made the first flight go much quicker!

I was welcomed home with gifts and cake . . . not just because my family was happy to have me back, but also because it was actually my birthday 🙂

The week went by much to quickly . . . and tomorrow it’s Kevin’s turn to leave.  He got most of his packing done yesterday, and today he was finishing up last minute stuff at the office.  Tomorrow morning (way too early) he starts the first leg of his journey to Haiti (good thing for interns who are willing to get up early early!).  Pray for smooth connections, for luggage to arrive, for the team as they get to know each other, and for the girls, who aren’t quite ready to say another good bye again so soon.

Leave a Reply

