Packing and Preparation

The girls and I spent some time packing this weekend (Kevin is a much more experienced packer, so he’s got lots of time yet).  I must say . . . it’s quite something to be in Calgary on a chilly winter day and to be selecting clothes for California . . . or Niger.  I sent the girls to pick pajamas, and Talia chose her fuzzy Christmas ones.  Hmmm . . . let’s try this again.

Just to be clear . . . the girls are going to California (that’s where Oma & Opa are right now), and I’m heading to Niger with Kevin.  I have a long to do list, that I seem to be adding to non-stop . . . I think I’ve added 4 items since I started this post . . .  but most seem pretty manageable.  I’m taking tomorrow off from volunteering at the school so that I can get a few more things done . . .

One of the things that I’ve checked off my list is to create a “Giving Page” for  my trip.  This is simply an on-line donation page that allows people to give towards my portion of the project costs.  I’m about halfway there, but I’m still hoping to raise just over $1000.  Would you pray about contributing in this way?  You can donate online here or, of course, you can send your donation to eMi Canada, 4626 Bowness Road NW, Calgary, AB, T3B 0B3 (if you mail in your donation, please include a separate note that says “Project 10019 – Volunteer Wiens”).

Needless to say, I’m getting very excited about this upcoming project trip.  Our pastor prayed for us at the end of the service today, and lots of people have offered prayers and encouragement while we’re gone.  Here‘s the link to the Project Trip Prayer Guide for day by day prayer points to guide your prayers.  Please also pray for me as I find my role on the team . . . sometimes a bit more challenging, as I don’t come with the same set of professional skills as the engineers and architects.  Thanks for your prayers!

Leave a Reply

