The start of the Christmas Season . . .

Boy, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted.  I didn’t realize how busy I’d gotten.  I’ve been working on Christmas cards, prayer letters and the like, and just haven’t thought about blogging.

We told the girls that we wouldn’t decorate for Christmas until we turned the page on the calendar . . . so, needless to say, on December 1st our tree went up and most of the house got decorated . . . not that we do a ton in terms of decorations.  But the living room looks nice.  We had to find a new spot for the tree this year, since we put a desk in the corner that we’ve usually used.  The cat likes the new, more central, location – his new favourite napping spot is on the treeskirt.

I scrapbooked my Christmas cards this year (digital scrapbooking – so I just have to do it once, then print out however many copies I need).  I’m horrible at getting Christmas cards out on time, but this year I’m trying to make a special effort – there are so many people supporting and encouraging us as we move towards eMi, the very LEAST I can do is send a Christmas card.

The Christmas parties have started too – on Saturday, Talia & Kaisa got to go to the Fireplace to paint a ceramic Christmas ornament, courtesy of Kevin’s work.  Isn’t that a great idea for a kids Christmas party?   Saturday night, Kevin and I went to the church Christmas Banquet – the food was delicious, as always, and the decorations were beautiful.  An English Corner friend came along, so she got to see a bit of Christmas Canadian-style too.  Yesterday was the Pregnancy Care Centre board and volunteer Christmas party – which included lots of fun and games.  I think we’re actually party-free this weekend (I’m not sure how that happened 😉 ) – though we’ve got the English Corner potluck on Monday.

Well, I’d better get back to those Christmas cards . . . I still have a ways to go, and I need to get prayer letters printing.  Hope you’re all enjoying the season . . . don’t let the “work” of Christmas bog you down so that you can’t enjoy the fun part!

One thought on “The start of the Christmas Season . . .

  1. Crystal

    Sounds like your Christmas is off to a great start! Thanks for making time to visit with us during this busy time of year!!! It was wonderful to see you … and catch up on life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

